Xml
Item Posts   

newbie have some questions

| 
dakotasuth dakotasuth
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 08/15
Posted: 08/19/15
08:23 PM

Hey everybody.  Glad to be here. I hate to ask questions like this but i have had some bad experiences with  tires both personally and professionally . I am an auto mechanic  but rest assured about tires we arent all that knowledgeable  in general. Ive had alot  of junk Hercules  tires at work  cause  weird vibrations. I have personally had a pair  of sumic by sumitomo  be god awful  vibrations  bad in the rain ect. And a pair if goodyears have  similar  issues the continental contipro contacts on my 14 focus are at about 4/32 so i am thinking about replacement .
Now my question  is this being so many  brands of tires how do you  know what  the best buy is. Which company as a whole makes the best quality tire. I dont need a super car tire just a good all season tire. What brand is the overall  best in  quality, ride and price? Thanks everyone.  

Just Try It1 Just Try It1
Moderator | Posts: 2076 | Joined: 08/14
Posted: 08/19/15
08:34 PM

exactly what size do you need.. we have a forum member who really knows tires.. he drops in a few times a week. usually early in the mornings.

year make model..

tire size on the car and what sizes are listed on the tire placard/sticker either in the door jam, glove box or trunk.. i don't know where they put them .. and i take it you have a 2014 focus..

being a mechanic.. did ford ever improve the size and shape of ford focus tie rod end studs.. the early 2000's versions had an undercut that took the 8mm thread diameter to about 5MM..  

CapriRacer CapriRacer
Enthusiast | Posts: 346 | Joined: 02/07
Posted: 08/20/15
07:15 AM

I think I am the guy being referred to above - and I appreciate the vote of confidence.

- BUT -