Ad Radar

Automotive Forums  Where Car Enthusiasts Go to Discuss Cars Online

Home | Active Posts | Search | Log In / Register | Terms | FAQs
Xml
Item Posts   

used BMW or Mercedes convertible — advice?

| 
CKDexterHaven CKDexterHaven
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 09/12
Posted: 09/07/12
10:54 PM

Considering a 2002-05 BMW, versus a 2004-05 Mercedes CLK 500.

With the BMW, either the 325 or 330ci, i suppose. I was leaning toward the 330, but i'm 45, not a hot-rod. I really don't drive fast. I just moved to Los Angeles from NYC. Lived my entire adult life in Manhattan, without a car, and so at this point/age, i really want to buy something i'm going to like and enjoy, rather than going for the very most practical choice (Honda, Toyota, etc.).

I've been counseled in a BMW forum that i want the 330ci, for the horsepower, i guess. But, i'm currently sharing a Mini Cooper S, and realizing how little i really 'push' a car. I'm a smooth driver, and when shifting, i rarely push the revs. Like, at all. That said, i do enjoy driving and the aesthetics and 'sensual' benefits of a performance car are factors that do matter to me.

So, there are two questions, really.
1. ) between the BMW and the Merc.
2. ) If a BMW, how much would i miss the performance of the 330 versus a 325?
Okay, so there are three questions....
3. ) If my choices in BMW are between a newer (04-05) 325 versus an older (02-03) 330, does the age matter? Or, same with mileage.... Lower mileage 325 versus higher 330? All things equal, of course i'd prefer a lower mileage 330, ***

I would love to buy a manual, but getting used to LA traffic has me convinced the shiftable auto is the way to go. I'll save the real shifting for my next car.

Thanks in advance.  

Nick.Joel Nick.Joel
User | Posts: 154 | Joined: 06/12
Posted: 09/12/12
07:14 AM