Ad Radar

Automotive Forums  Where Car Enthusiasts Go to Discuss Cars Online

Home | Active Posts | Search | Log In / Register | Terms | FAQs
Xml
Item Posts   

Major problem! Antifreeze in #2 cylinder, please help!

| 
firesniper20 firesniper20
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 05/11
Posted: 05/16/11
08:06 AM

hey guys, I'll try and be as descriptive as possible..

I have a 1996 toyota camry 2.2 liter LE, 5sf3 engine (dual overhead cam). I bought it from my wife's friend a few years ago, the car only had 80k miles on it, and for $600 bucks, I said why not...but now I have a major problem. I have antifreeze/coolant coming into the #2 cylinder, which is causing it to misfire, the other cylinders are all dry, and working perfect.

Now I know what you're thinking, I must have blown my head gasket, and that's what I thought at first.. (i'm an intermediate home mechanic, so I replaced it myself) put everything back, and I still have the same problem. Antifreeze is STILL getting into the #2 cylinder.. so it has to be a faulty head, right? I ordered a rebuilt head, installed it, bought a NEW gasket with it (from toyota), AND new head bolts (also from toyota), torqued every bolt/nut to toyotas specifications, and lo and behold, I still have the problem.

At this point, it could only be one thing right? The engine body ITSELF probably has a small hole or crack in which the coolant is leaking into the cylinder. So I do a compression test, leakdown test and vacuum tests on all the cylinders, and they all look fine. I speak to a few mechanics around my area, and they all tell me it's the engine block...so I take the plunge, and buy a rebuilt engine. I installed it last weekend, the engine runs very smooth, and I thought the problem was solved. I decided to change the spark plugs, so I'm out there changing the second spark plug...and to my surprise, I pull it out and what do I find? ANTIFREEZE!