Xml
Item Posts   

Need alignment with new tires?

| 
zuben zuben
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 08/05
Posted: 08/31/05
10:59 AM

I am getting four new tires for my 2000 Camry LE V6 and I want to know if I need to get an alignment at the same time.  The current tires show no obvious signs of uneven wear although I need new tires because of the wear.  Mileage is 38,000.

Thanks

zuben  

cbassett01 cbassett01
New User | Posts: 47 | Joined: 03/06
Posted: 03/15/06
01:26 PM

I wouldn't think you'd need to, but I'm not a tire expert... this is from my own personal experience.  (A while ago, I purchased a '95 ford Taurus sedan with 93k on it and had he tires changed shortly after I purchased it, and DIDN'T get an alignment job done.  Ran it for about 55k and had no problems with the tires or tire-wearing problems at all.  Then I sold the car due to engine problems...)  but anyway, I'd get an opinion at a tire shop to see if your car needs it, otherwise, save the cash for a later repair or need.

I mean, it depends on what type of vehicle you drive and how you drive it.   If you drive in town a lot (and go in and out of a lot of parking lots or drive ways, an alignment might be a good idea... but then again if you only drive on the highway and are careful about things like potholes and big bumps, then you might be ok without an alignment.

The only time you should really need an alignment (or other work) is if your car doesn't drive "correctly" (meaning, it pulls to one side, the wheel shakes, there is extra noise coming from the wheels, etc).  It's sort of hard to tell because each car is different and each person drives their car differently, and differences can mean one person's suggestion/situation may or may not work for another person.  If you don't mind spending the extra cash, then get it done, but if you're on a tight budget, get an opinion and a quote.  Some places will do a balance and alignment for free (or discounted) with 4-tire purchases.